The Anatomy of Hospital: The Buildings of St. Barnabas Hospital, The Swedish Hospital and Hennepin County Medical Center
April 6 – May 30, 2017
Opening Reception: April 15, 10am-12pm
Minneapolis Central Library, Cargill Hall Gallery
300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55401
The walls of a hospital hold more than the weight of their structure. The building contains memories and stories from patients, families and staff. The history of hospitals in Minneapolis dates back to 1871 with the first hospital, Cottage Hospital, which would become St. Barnabas Hospital, a predecessor of HCMC. Through the years, and many transitions, the history of the hospitals often reflect the changing city landscape. The Hennepin Medical History Center has been lucky to collect and share these stories. This exhibit is about the buildings, their memories and the stories they created through architecture.
VISITING THE HMHC
Our permanent collections are operated by the Hennepin Health Foundation.
The collections are located in the lower level of the HCMC Blue Building – 915 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN. MAP
Both collections are open:
Tuesdays and Thursdays
10am - 2pm and by appointment
The MMC Collection:
Is located in BL.227.
The HCMC Collection:
Is located in BL.226.
Email | 612.873.6090
The Hennepin Medical History Center, a program of Hennepin Health Foundation (a nonprofit 501(c) 3 organization), operates through the generosity of private donors.
Every gift matters. Please consider supporting our mission and activities today by clicking on the link below and choosing the History Center when filling out the Donor Designations Field.
If you experience difficulties donating online, please contact our office at 612.873.6090.